Strawberry Pistachio Crumble

10 Jul


Me and Ted Allen have a lot in common. We have both lived in Indiana, we both love food, we both like to say, “You’ve been chopped” when someone does something wrong, and most importantly, we both believe that pistachios are the best nuts. In fact, we concur on the top three nuts of all time! See?:

I wonder if he’d also agree with my top three fruits rating: Pineapple, Strawberries, and Blueberries?

Whatever the case, I was ecstatic when I found this recipe for Strawberry Pistachio Crumble on Chef in Disguise. I love fruit-centric desserts because they seem more healthy (not saying they actually are…this is my rationalization speaking). And, I love nuts in desserts because the salty, savory element cuts the sweetness and makes for an interesting taste experience. So if my second favorite fruit (strawberries) and my favorite nut (pistachios) are having a party, you know I’m there!

Indeed, this Strawberry Pistachio Crumble is out-of-this-world good. I am having a very hard time restraining myself from eating the whole dish in one sitting. The crunchy nut-oat topping is the perfect contrast to the soft, sweet strawberry mixture. It was divine on its own, but would also be magnificent with some ice cream on the side.

Side note: I spent a good chunk of time shelling countless pistachios to yield 1 1/2 cups for the topping (yes, I was being cheap by buying a bag of unshelled nuts for this endeavor), but it was totally worth it 🙂  Lots of love went into this dish!

Strawberry Pistachio Crumble (original recipe by A Spicy Perspective, adapted by Chef in Disguise)

Ingredients:

For the Filling-

  • 4 lbs strawberries, stems removed and halved
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 3 tbsp orange juice
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch

For the Topping-

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cup chopped roasted pistachios
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, cut into cubes

Preparation:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  • In a baking dish (I used 13×9), mix the strawberries, lemon zest, orange juice, vanilla, sugar, and cornstarch. Spread the berries out evenly.
  • Using a food processor, mix the ingredients for the topping until the butter is well combined, but the mixture is still crumbly.
  • Spoon the topping over the fruit and bake for 40-50 minutes—until the edges are bubbling and the top is golden.
  • Cool completely before serving.

Makes 8-10 servings.

What are your nut and fruit rankings? 🙂

11 Responses to “Strawberry Pistachio Crumble”

  1. thefooddoctor July 10, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    I am truely honored that you liked one of my recipes and tried it..
    Yours looks amazing and I am really glad it tasted good too
    Thank you for the mention

    • yumtherapy July 10, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

      No thank you for sharing the recipe! It was outstanding! 🙂

  2. Kathy Scott July 10, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    How could you overlook walnuts as the very best nut ever? Second is pistachios, third is almonds.

    • yumtherapy July 10, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

      Haha no I did not overlook walnuts…I’m not sure if they’d even make it on my top 5 list!

  3. Lisa @ Sweet as Sugar Cookies July 11, 2011 at 3:37 am #

    You’re making my mouth water and my tummy rumble. It looks absolutely lovely. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till Monday night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your crumble up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/07/sweets-for-saturday-25.html

  4. Karen July 11, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Your strawberry crumble looks yummy, especially with pistachios.

    • yumtherapy July 11, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

      Thank you! Believe it or not, it tastes even better than it looks! 🙂

  5. Christina July 18, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    I love the pistachios in this crumble! Looks delicious! 🙂

    • yumtherapy July 18, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      Hehe, they are a pain to shell, but so worth it!!

  6. eftychia July 24, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Delicious desert! Thanks for sharing.

    • yumtherapy July 24, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

Leave a comment