Panko-Crusted Avocado Fries with Lemon Cilantro Aioli

5 Jan

Wow, have I been on a hiatus! First I was super busy with the end of the semester madness, and then there were all of the holiday celebrations. I know… excuses, excuses. I’ll try to do better.

Well, a few days ago I finally got Pinterest. What a great way to procrastinate 😉 But it is also very motivational. I am itching to start doing more crafts, I just hope I have the time to do them with the new semester starting next week *whine.* I also love the food boards because I’m always looking for new recipes to try.


I am happy to say that my first recipe inspired by Pinterest was a success! Sure, I managed to negate the health benefits of avocado by frying it and dipping it in mayo, but these panko-crusted avocado fries were a fabulous treat! They were soft and creamy on the inside, and crispy and golden brown on the outside. And the lemon flavors in the aioli made it a perfect, flavorful, fresh accompaniment. I’m looking forward to trying lots more recipes 🙂


Panko-Crusted Avocado Fries with Lemon Cilantro Aioli

(adapted from recipe by Adventures in Cooking)

Ingredients:

For the fries-

  • Canola oil (for frying)
  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/3 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Pepper
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Cumin

For the aioli-

  • 5 Tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 3 Tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
  • Juice from 1/2 of a lemon
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Preparation:

  • In a medium-sized bowl, mix together the bread crumbs,  salt, pepper, and cumin. Set it aside.
  • Cut the avocados in half and then slice them vertically into wedges. Set them aside.
  • Heat the deep fryer to 335 degrees F.
  • Meanwhile, dredge the avocado slices in the breadcrumb mixture, then in the egg mixture, then in the breadcrumb mixture again. Place them in the hot oil and fry them for about 2-3 minutes, or until golden brown. Remove them with a slotted spoon or tongs, and set them on a plate lined with paper towels to absorb the excess oil.
  • Allow fries to dry for 10 minutes, then transfer them to a serving tray and serve them immediately.
  • For the lemon cilantro aioli, place the mayonnaise, cilantro, lemon juice, salt, and pepper in a blender and mix until smooth and creamy in texture.

Makes 3-4 servings.

7 Responses to “Panko-Crusted Avocado Fries with Lemon Cilantro Aioli”

  1. Malou Prestado January 5, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    This is interesting. I’ve never baked/cooked avocado before but why not try this version. Thanks for posting this recipe.

    • yumtherapy January 5, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

      This was my first time cooking with avocado so I didn’t know what to expect, but its’ quite a pleasant surprise! Hope you like it! 🙂

  2. Joanne Ozug January 6, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

    WOW, this is such a neat recipe. Definitely trying this, I’ve got all the ingredients on hand!

    • yumtherapy January 6, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

      Awesome! I love discovering new recipes and having the ingredients on hand! Hope you love it 🙂

      • Joanne Ozug January 17, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

        I’m finally making this tomorrow. I didn’t feel like making it before because the deep fryer wasn’t cleaned LOL but now it is! I’ll let you know how it goes.

      • yumtherapy January 18, 2012 at 8:33 am #

        Good luck! I’m actually making this again tonight too! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Game Day Nibbles: Avocado Fries | Fifteen Spatulas - January 31, 2012

    […] Recipe adapted from Yum!Therapy. […]

Leave a Reply

