Pasta Primavera

21 Aug

Yikes, it has been almost a month since I’ve posted! I have been super busy between having my three beautiful sisters visit from New York, and preparing for my doctoral preliminary exams. The visit was wonderful, and the prelims…well, I’m just relieved that they’re over! I’ve been studying for the past six weeks, and before that, I had two summer classes. So basically this weekend is the first and last weekend I’ll have to myself this summer 😦 Oh well, such is the life of a grad student.


But summer’s not all bad. One of my favorite things to do in the summer months is to go to the farmer’s market. I love supporting local agriculture, and getting fresh, high quality fruits and veggies. Pasta primavera is one of my favorite dishes that takes full advantage of all the veggies in season.


This dish is full of zucchini, squash, peppers, carrots, and cherry tomatoes, all roasted to perfection with some olive oil and herbes de provence. In case you’re unfamiliar, herbes de provence is just a mixture of dried herbs traditionally used in French cooking, including savory, fennel, basil, thyme, and lavender.


Hehe, I remember the first time my husband and I shopped for ingredients for pasta primavera. We had never had the occasion to buy herbes de provence before making this dish, and it seemed to be such a specialized ingredient that we assumed we’d never finish the jar. Every time I’ve made pasta primavera since then, I’ve joked to my husband that we were “almost out!” But then last night when I made it…we finally were almost out, for real! Clearly, we have made pasta primavera many times. It’s a keeper 🙂

Pasta Primavera

(recipe by Giada de Laurentiis)

Ingredients:

  • 3 carrots, cut into thin strips
  • 2 medium zucchini, cut into thin strips
  • 2 yellow squash, cut into thin strips
  • 1 onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 bell peppers, any color, cut into thin strips
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 tablespoon herbes de provence
  • 1 pound pasta
  • 15 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan

Preparation:

  • Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.
  • On a large heavy baking sheet, toss all of the vegetables with the oil, salt, pepper, and dried herbs to coat. Transfer half of the vegetable mixture to another heavy large baking sheet and arrange evenly over the baking sheets. Bake until the carrots are tender and the vegetables begin to brown, stirring after the first 10 minutes, about 20 minutes total.
  • Meanwhile, cook the pasta in a large pot of boiling salted water until al dente, tender but still firm to the bite. Drain, reserving 1 cup of the cooking liquid.
  • Toss the pasta with the vegetable mixtures in a large bowl to combine. Toss with the cherry tomatoes and enough reserved cooking liquid to moisten. Season the pasta with salt and pepper, to taste. Sprinkle with the parmesan and serve immediately.

Makes 6 servings.

2 Responses to “Pasta Primavera”

  1. FreeSpiritEater August 21, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    This recipe is fabulous! I absolutely LOVE the color contrast and the flavor combination, I’ve always loved Giada and you recreated a lovely dish in a wonderful way. Thanks so much for sharing, love your site! Lots of bright, creative flavorful dishes. =]

    • yumtherapy August 21, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

      Thanks so much! Giada never fails me 🙂

Leave a Reply

