Indian Stir-Fried Black-Eyed Peas with Mushroom Croquettes, & Farewell to Crappy Pictures

3 Aug

I just borrowed two Indian cookbooks from the library– India’s Vegetarian Cooking: A Regional Guide by Monisha Bharadwaj, and Pure & Simple: Homemade Indian Vegetarian Cuisine by Vidhu Mittal– and so far, I’m impressed with both! As I browsed through the pages of each cookbook, I was in awe of the vibrant pictures and helpful descriptions of the process. I bookmarked several recipes to try out. I have a feeling I will be renewing these books several times 🙂

The other night I tried one recipe from each book to make Stir-Fried Black-Eyed Peas (“Bhuna Lobhia”), and Mushroom Croquettes (“Khumb ke Cutlet”). What attracted me to these recipes was that they called for easy-to-find ingredients. In fact, for the main dish, I only needed to buy tomatoes and peas…I had everything else on hand or was buying the ingredients anyway for other dishes I was making that week. Love that!


Both dishes were amazingly flavorful. The mushroom croquettes had a crunchy exterior, then a nice thick layer of soft potato, and and finally some tasty stir-fried mushrooms and peppers in the center. I imagine it being like a tater tot for grown-ups (but obviously way better!) 🙂 I thought the croquettes tasted wonderful on their own, but next time I make them I might also include some sort of chutney to add some brightness.


The black-eyed peas were also wonderful. The ginger, garlic, cilantro, cumin seeds, and other Indian spices were a fantastic combination, and one I’ve yet to encounter in Indian restaurants. I will definitely be making this dish again and again!

Will you miss crappy pictures like this one? I won't!

In other news, the pictures you see in this post are [hopefully] the last crappy pictures you’ll see from me! I am excited to report that my husband and I just bought ourselves a Sony Cybershot DSC-HX100V as an early Christmas present! We were certainly due for a new camera; I bought my last one in 2003 and it is a measly 5 megapixels! So practically a stone age camera.

Oh and my husband just got a new job (hooray!) so he had to take advantage of his employee discount of H.H. Gregg while he still could 🙂 I am hoping my food photography improves markedly, but I know I need to still learn more about proper lighting and composition; a new camera won’t solve all my problems. Feel free to leave me some tips!

Stir-Fried Black-Eyed Peas/Bhuna Lobhia

(adapted from recipe by Monisha Bharadwaj, India’s Vegetarian Cooking: A Regional Guide)

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp canola or sunflower oil
  • 1 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1 medium onion, finely sliced
  • 1 tbsp ginger-garlic paste (equal parts ginger and garlic, combined in mini food processor)
  • 1 can black-eyed peas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp tumeric
  • 2 large ripe tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • Salt, to taste
  • Chopped cilantro leaves for garnish

Preparation:

  • Heat the oil over medium heat in a heavy saucepan. Add the cumin seeds, fry until dark, and then add the onion and stir-fry until golden. Stir in the ginger-garlic paste and mix well.
  • Add the black-eyed peas, sprinkle in the chili powder and tumeric, and fry for 1 minute. Then add tomatoes, garam masala, sugar, and salt. Stir, add about 1/2 cup water, cover, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer until thickened, about 15 mins. The beans should retain their shape. To further thicken the sauce, mash a few of the black-eyed peas.
  • Garnish with cilantro and serve.

Makes 4 servings.

Mushroom Croquettes/Khumb ke Cutlet

(adapted from recipe by Vidhu Mittal, Pure & Simple: Homemade Indian Vegetarian Cuisine)

Ingredients:

  • 1 large potato, boiled for about 20 mins, and grated
  • 2 bread slices (I used whole wheat)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp grated mozzarella or other melting cheese
  • 1/4 tsp salt, plus more, to taste
  • 2 tsp vegetable oil
  • 2 tbsp mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 tbsp bell pepper, chopped

Preparation:

  • Dip the bread slices in about 2/3 cup of water and immediately squeeze out the water. Mix bread with  potato, cheese, and salt. Set aside.
  • For the filling, heat 2 tsp oil in a pan, add mushrooms, and salt and pepper, to taste. Cook for about 30 seconds and remove.
  • Divide the potato dough into 15 equal-sized balls. Stuff each ball with 1/4 tsp filling, and fold to seal the filling inside. Reshape.
  • Heat a deep fryer to 360 degrees (or fry on stovetop). Fry until golden brown, about 2-3 minutes.
  • Drain on paper towels, then serve.

Makes 15 croquettes.

4 Responses to “Indian Stir-Fried Black-Eyed Peas with Mushroom Croquettes, & Farewell to Crappy Pictures”

  1. tinkerbelle86 August 3, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

    this looks so delicious i love trying new things so im going to give it a go

    • yumtherapy August 3, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

      Awesome! Let me know what you think 🙂

  2. Geni - Sweet and Crumby August 20, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    What a hearty and fabulous plate of food. My husband will think he has died and gone to heaven if I make those mushroom croquettes. I think your chutney idea sounds perfect or perhaps would a marinara sauce (on the side) work? I am thinking of making it tonight.

    • yumtherapy August 21, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

      Yes, I think they would be great with marinara sauce too! Let me know how it goes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

