Roasted Carrots: Giving Cauliflower and Main Dishes a Run for Their Money

17 May

It’s no secret that I am obsessed with roasted cauliflower. But over the past few months, a new vegetable has come into my life, which, when roasted, approaches (if not equals) my love for roasted cauliflower: Carrots.

I’m not a big fan of raw carrots. For some reason, I still remember being a small child and my parents asking me whether I liked carrots. I said, “They’re OK, but it’s not like if I was in Heaven, I’d wish for a carrot.” Ha, well said, kid version of me! But it’s still true. Raw carrots are kind of blah, and can only be saved from dullness by 1) Being drowned in some form of vegetable dip, or 2) Being roasted. I much prefer the latter.

If you are one of those unfortunate souls (like me until recently) who has never tried roasted carrots, I insist that you must! The simplest thing to do is merely roast them with some olive oil, salt, and pepper. But if you want to take it a step further and make them maximally delicious, you can add shallots and thyme. The caramelized carrots and shallots are soft and sweet, and are balanced perfectly by the savory thyme, salt, and pepper.

These carrots are so delicious that each time I make them as a side dish, I immediately gobble them up, then look disappointedly at the main dish and wish I just had more carrots instead. Someday I will just make myself a whole plate of them.

Roasted Carrots with Shallots and Thyme (Adapted from recipe found on Meals.com)

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb small- or medium-sized carrots
  • 2 medium shallots
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme (or more, to taste)
  • 2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Preparation:

  • Preheat oven to 425.
  • Trim green tops of carrots, and cut larger carrots in half lengthwise. Slice shallots to about 1/4 in. thick (any thinner and they’ll burn).
  • Add carrots and shallots to a rimmed baking sheet and drizzle with oil. Sprinkle with thyme, salt, and pepper. Toss to coat.
  • Bake for about 30 to 35 minutes or until tender and lightly browned.

Makes 2 side dish servings.

2 Responses to “Roasted Carrots: Giving Cauliflower and Main Dishes a Run for Their Money”

  1. Colline May 17, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    Something worth trying. My children love carrots – wonder if they would go for the roasted!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Zucchini, Potato, and Scallion Pancakes with Chived Sour Cream « Yum! Therapy - September 18, 2011

    […] were absolutely perfect with a cool dollop of chived sour cream on top. I served the pancakes with roasted carrots– a nice reward for a long day of work. Plus, I pilfered the recipe from a brilliant blog […]

Leave a Reply

