“Black and Blue” Muffins with Almond Streusel

27 Feb

Lately I’ve been feeling the need to bake something every weekend, which is great, on one hand, because the more recipes I try, the more recipes I get to share with you! But on the other hand, baked goods are really starting to accumulate in my house because it’s too much for my husband and I to consume by ourselves.  So, he suggested that instead of baking desserts, I should start baking more breakfast-type foods. We have to eat breakfast every day, so the theory is, we’ll go through them faster.  After baking what I’ve coined “Black and Blue” muffins this evening, I predict that eating them in all in a short period of time will be no problem at all. They are quiet possibly the best muffins I’ve ever eaten!

The recipe is based on Angry Cherry’s recipe for Blackberry Buttermilk Muffins & Pistachio Streusel.  I changed just a couple of things, partly due to being cheap, partly due to being lazy, and partly due to just wanting to experiment.

I was intrigued by Angry Cherry’s Pistachio Streusel. I love pistachios! But here’s the problem: they are freaking expensive, especially if you want to get them pre-shelled (which I did, due to laziness). I’m talking $10 for a small container. *frustration* So I went to plan B: almonds. I also love almonds, and had lots leftover from making Almond & Lemon Biscotti with White Chocolate Drizzle. So I used almonds instead.

In Angry Cherry’s recipe, she uses blackberries. I thought this was a great idea because blackberries are kind of an unexpected fruit for a muffin. But I also had some leftover frozen blueberries, so I threw some of those in, too. The more berries the merrier, right?

I also added some cinnamon because I love the combination of berries, lemon, and cinnamon.

In the end, these muffins were divine. The were so moist and fruity, and the streusel topping was wonderfully savory, sweet, and a had perfectly crunchy texture.

I am really having trouble containing my excitement.

Good enough to be put on a pedestal 🙂

“Black and Blue Muffins” with Almond Streusel (adapted from recipe by Angry Cherry)

Ingredients:

Buttermilk Muffins-

  • 2 & 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 & 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • zest of one medium lemon
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 2/3 cup canola oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cups of blackberries, fresh or frozen (thaw if frozen)
  • 1/4 cup of blackberries, fresh or frozen (thaw if frozen)

Streusel Topping-

  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup finely ground almonds
  • 3 tablespoons  melted butter

Preparation:

  • Preheat oven to 375 F. Line a 12-cup muffin pan with muffin cups.
  • For the streusel: combine 1/4 cup each of all-purpose flour, white sugar, and ground almonds in a small bowl. Drizzle the melted butter over top of the mixture and stir with a fork until coarse crumbs form (add extra butter if needed to make the mixture come together).  Set aside the streusel.
  • For the muffins, sift together the flour, white sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and lemon zest in a large bowl. Set aside.
  • In another bowl, whisk together the lightly beaten egg, buttermilk, canola oil, honey, and vanilla extract.
  • Once the dry and wet ingredients have both been prepped, drop the blackberries and blueberries into the bowl of dry ingredients. Gently stir with a fork to coat the berries with flour– this will minimize the berries “bleeding” juice into the batter.
  • Pour the wet ingredients into the bowl of dry ingredients. Very gently fold everything together, mixing until everything is just moist and incorporated. DO NOT OVERMIX, even if you see small streaks or lumps of flour– over-mixing is the death of fluffy muffins!
  • Equally divide the batter between the prepared muffin cups and top with generous amounts of almond streusel.
  • Bake for 22-24 minutes, or until the edges of the muffins and streusel start to brown and a toothpick inserted into the middle of a muffin comes out clean.

Makes 12 muffins.

10 Responses to ““Black and Blue” Muffins with Almond Streusel”

  1. Christine February 27, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    Aw, I’m very flattered to have inspired you in such a way! Your muffins look fabulously delicious. 🙂

    • yumtherapy February 27, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

      Thanks so much for the inspiration! 🙂

  2. Amy February 28, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    Mmm, those look delicious! I loooove streusel topping. I wonder if you could make a dessert that’s all topping and no cake 😉

    • yumtherapy February 28, 2011 at 11:19 am #

      Exactly. The top of the muffin is the best part. There was actually a Seinfeld episode about that…they tried to start a business that just sold muffin tops. “Top of the muffin to ya’!” Lol.

  3. Christina February 28, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    Mmmmm…these muffins look great!! The streusel topping looks delicious! 🙂

    • yumtherapy March 3, 2011 at 9:52 am #

      Thanks, as does yours on your coffee cake muffins! I think I will be trying those this weekend.

  4. crustabakes March 2, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    This looks like breakfast fit for the king between all that fruits and toppings! I am looking forward to more breakfast posts from you!

    • yumtherapy March 3, 2011 at 8:07 am #

      Thanks! I am itching to try more muffin recipes, so I will probably have some more breakfast posts soon.

  5. Geni - Sweet and Crumby March 3, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    These muffins are so amazing looking! The blackberry, blueberry combo along with an almond streusel sounds so delicious. It’s making me very hungry this morning.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [Muffin Fail, then] Muffin Win: Coffee Cake Muffins w/ Sweet Glaze « Yum! Therapy - March 11, 2011

    […] fit the bill, but what kind? Typical of me, I couldn’t decide between my new favorite muffin, Black and Blue Muffins with Almond Streusel, or a muffin that I had yet to discover. So I went with both, as I was dying to try Coffee Cake […]

Leave a Reply

