Fear of Making Fresh Pasta: Conquered!

10 Feb

Yes, I have been neglecting my blog lately…but not for lack of recipes to share! I’ve just been busy with school and such, but got an unexpected and welcome reprieve tonight when my class was canceled. But which recipe to share first?

I suppose I will tell you about my adventure in pasta-making last night. I was always somewhat afraid of making fresh pasta, so I never tried anything beyond the short-cut of filling wonton wrappers with cheese and calling it ravioli. I think I was most apprehensive because I felt ill-equipped. I have no KitchenAid mixer and no pasta attachment, or  any special pasta-making tools of the sort. Thus, I was delighted when I stumbled upon Confetti’s recipe for “Homemade Cheese Ravioli with Tomato Basil Sauce” — no fancy tools required! Could it really be so simple? Yes, yes it could. I think dinner came together in a half hour last night, and I also made a side dish.

I think that part of the ease comes from the strategy of folding the raviolis around the filling instead of pressing together two layers of dough. The result are pillow-shaped ravioli that are cute as a button! I could just lay my head on them!

Besides the ravioli being cute, they’re delicious! By adding chives and basil to the cheese, you get such great flavor into the ravioli.

Really the only adjustments I made to the recipe were that I added a little mozzarella (just because I had some on hand and love cheese, so I figured, why not?) and used store-bought marinara (out of laziness; her sauce  looks really good though).

Homemade Feta Cheese Ravioli (adapted from Homemade Cheese Ravioli with Tomato Basil Sauce by Confetti)

Ingredients:

For the Pasta:

* 2.5 cups flour
* 1 cup boiling water

For the Filling:

* 1/2 cup feta cheese
* 1/4 cup mozzarella cheese
* 2 tbsp grated fresh Parmesan cheese
* 1 large egg
* Black pepper, basil, and chopped chives, to taste

For the Sauce:

* Store-bought marinara, or the homemade tomato basil sauce linked above

Preparation:

  • Sift the flour into a bowl and add the hot water over it. Carefully, with your hands, knead the ingredients into a dough. Add flour if you feel the dough is sticky. Let is rest for 10 minutes (while you prepare the filling).
  • For the filling, mix the ingredients listed above into a thick cream.
  • Dust the surface you’ll be working on with flour. Roll out the dough into a large circle, thickness 1 cm.
  • Using a pizza cutter, cut out the edges of the rolled out dough leaving it rectangular in shape.
  • Place one-teaspoon measures of the filling all over the dough placing them an 3 cm apart.
  • Again using the pizza cutter, cut between the empty spaces leaving each spoonful of the filling in a square on its own.
  • Fold the dough over the filling and seal with your fingers. Repeat for all the filling. You should end up with about 16 pillow-like raviolis.
  • Throw the raviolis in a pot of salty boiling water. Cook for 3 to 4 minutes, until the raviolis float.
  • Drain the raviolis and set aside. Optional: After they cool a bit, cut out the uneven edges with a knife.
  • Toss the ravioli with the pasta sauce over medium heat until warmed.
  • Top with parmesan and chives.

Makes 2 servings.

So freshly cooked, you can see the steam coming off of it!

I encourage any other amateur chefs out there to try out this recipe. It’s a great foray into pasta-making!

7 Responses to “Fear of Making Fresh Pasta: Conquered!”

  1. ElenaSC February 10, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Yummy!

  2. birdonawire23 February 11, 2011 at 1:00 am #

    Kasey, this along with everything else you’ve cooked look so delicious! I’m so impressed and glad that you are taking the time for “self-care” (lol) by cooking. I look forward to seeing how those tiramisu cupcakes turn out when you make them! 🙂

    • yumtherapy February 11, 2011 at 6:35 am #

      Thanks 🙂 I really need to make those tiramisu cupcakes soon… but I have a very long dessert to-do list, lol.

  3. Geni - Sweet and Crumby February 11, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Good for you for conquering your homemade ravioli fears! I conquered my homemade marshmallow fears a couple of months ago. Cheers to us! 🙂 They look so yummy by the way. Oh. My.

    • yumtherapy February 11, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

      Thanks, and cheers to us, indeed! It’s all about enjoying the adventure of the kitchen 🙂

  4. melaniejanem February 21, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    Yum! The first (and only) time I attempted fresh pasta I ended up with egg yolks all over my kitchen..disaster. This looks much easier!

    • yumtherapy February 21, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

      That’s what I imagined would happen to me…but it was disaster-proof. No eggs needed 🙂

Leave a Reply

