Fried Smashed Potatoes with Lemon

28 Jan

I am starting to realize that a disproportionate number of my blog posts are about potato recipes. I guess this should come as no surprise, since potatoes are my favorite food. They are so versatile, and I love finding new ways to prepare them! I hope you love them as much as I do 🙂

I recently discovered Fried Smashed Potatoes with Lemon. I think the best thing about these potatoes is the texture. The outside of the potatoes are crispy, but the inside is smooth and creamy. Lemon is a great compliment– as always, it brightens up the dish.

Fried Smashed Potatoes with Lemon by Giada De Laurentiis

Ingredients:

For the Potatoes:

* 2 lbs baby red or fingerling potatoes
* 1/4 cup olive oil, plus extra as needed
* 3 cloves garlic, peeled and halved

For the Dressing:

* 3 tbsp olive oil
* 3 tbsp fresh lemon juice
* 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley leaves
* 1 tbsp chopped fresh thyme leaves
* 2 lemons, zested
* Salt and pepper, to taste

Preparation:

  • For the potatoes: Put the potatoes in an 8-quart stockpot with enough cold water to cover by at least 2 inches. Bring the water to a boil over medium heat and cook until the potatoes are tender, about 20 to 25 minutes. Drain the potatoes in a colander and allow to dry for 5 minutes. Using the palm of your hand, gently press the potatoes until lightly smashed.
  • In a large, nonstick skillet, heat 1/4 cup of oil over medium-high heat. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant and lightly brown, about 1 minute. Remove the garlic and discard.  In batches, add the potatoes and cook, without stirring, until the bottoms turn golden brown, about 5 to 8 minutes. Using a spatula, turn the potatoes over and cook, drizzling with oil, if needed, until golden brown on the other side for another 5 to 8 minutes.
  • For the dressing: In a small bowl, whisk together the oil, lemon juice, parsley, thyme, and lemon zest. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.
  • Spoon the dressing over the potatoes and toss gently until coated. Season with salt and pepper, to taste.

The picture doesn't do them justice-- MUST IMPROVE FOOD PHOTOGRAPHY!

The one issue I had was that I wasn’t able to find red potatoes that were as small as as I saw Giada use in the episode. Out of the bag of potatoes that I bought, I tried to select the smallest for this recipe. Nevertheless, I think the size of them made the smashing part difficult. It was hard to smash such large potatoes in a gentle manner, and some of them fell apart. But they still tasted delicious!

5 Responses to “Fried Smashed Potatoes with Lemon”

  1. sonounavolpe January 30, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    This looks incredible! I was going to make pizza for dinner tonight (it’s Vegan Pizza Day, apparently), and I think that this will be perfect to go on top. Have you discovered the wonder of potatoes on pizza yet? 😉

    • yumtherapy January 30, 2011 at 9:23 am #

      Mmm that sounds good! I am ashamed to admit that I’ve only had a frozen pizza from Target that had potatoes on it. But I do love potatoes on anything…so I think I’ll put homemade pizza with potatoes on my cooking to-do list 🙂

  2. boxingoctopus February 9, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    I love smashed potatoes.
    Re: the food photography. Natural light is the best light. I’ve learned through lots of trial and error that flash is just not conducive to food photography. I try to shoot all of my food pictures between 4 and 4:30 in the afternoon with some nice natural light coming in from the side.

    • yumtherapy February 9, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

      Thanks for the tip! I get the same impression that flash is not good for food. The only problem is, I always cook late at night when there is no natural light 😦

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegan Pizza Day: The results « Vegan to the People - January 31, 2011

    […] in the day, I had become inspired (or entranced) by this recipe for fried smashed potatoes with lemon over at yumtherapy’s blog.  Because I hear often how we need to eat healthier, I knew that fried potatoes would probably not […]

Leave a Reply

