These twice-baked potatoes are a revelation!

1 Jan

Potatoes have always been my favorite food. Mashed potatoes, grilled potatoes, roasted potatoes, baked potatoes, and best of all, twice-baked potatoes! Yet, shockingly, my husband had never tried twice-baked potatoes up until a few months ago, when I decided to open his eyes to their wonder. I found a recipe on the Food Network website, made some tweaks, and served him his very first twice-baked potato. As expected, he was taken aback by how delicious they were and could not believe that he had lived all 30 years of his life without them. Now, he demands twice-baked potatoes practically every week. I’m OK with it, because I love them, too, but I get bored with always having the same thing. Thus, today I decided to make some adjustments. As previously mentioned, I am also becoming obsessed with cauliflower (as is my husband, who has declared it his new favorite vegetable), so I thought, why not combine the two?

Here is my recipe for Twice-Baked Cauliflower and Cheddar Potatoes:

Ingredients:

* 2 large russet potatoes
* 2 cups of cauliflower florets
* 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
* 2 tablespoons milk
* 1/2 cup sharp shredded cheddar, plus more for topping
* Salt and pepper, to taste

Preparation:

– Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

– Pierce potatoes with a fork. Place on center rack in oven and bake for one hour.

– Meanwhile, bring a large pot of salted water to boil. Add cauliflower florets and cook for approximately 5 minutes. Drain, and chop into small pieces.

– Remove potatoes from oven. Let cool slightly, then cut a canoe-like top out of the potatoes. Scoop the flesh (yes, this is a gross word, but what else can I call it?) into a mixing bowl.

– Add the cauliflower, butter, milk, cheddar, salt, and pepper to the potatoes. Mash until creamy.

– Scoop the potato mixture into the potato skins. Top with additional cheddar.

– Set potatoes on a baking sheet and bake for 15 to 20 more minutes, until potatoes are heated through and cheese is melted.

Makes 2 servings

I served these for dinner, along with vegetarian chix patties again (we really need to go grocery shopping). This new version with cauliflower received my husband’s approval (and mine)! I also recommend it with broccoli.

Happy New Year, by the way!

One Response to “These twice-baked potatoes are a revelation!”

  1. jillybooks January 1, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    Potatoes are the perfect food. I’ve made twice baked before, but the idea of adding cauliflower or broccoli or both adds a whole new twist. Thanks for expanding my potato horizons. If you like potatoes, try LEFSE. It’s a dry flat bread made from mashed potatoes and flour. Mmmmm.

Leave a Reply

